AMD Backing Out of CPU Speed Wars Against Intel

Status
Not open for further replies.

wiyosaya

Distinguished
Apr 12, 2006
Just shows how clueless the new guy is. IMHO, this will kill innovation at AMD, if not the company itself in due time. For me, though, it is too late. I went Intel after years of building AMD.

His comments bring to mind those supposedly attributed to Bill Gates what were they? "Who would ever need more than 1K of RAM?"????

tofu2go

Distinguished
Jul 8, 2011
“I think we come in and steal the bacon around the whole thin-and-light movement and capture a significant portion of the opportunity there,” Read said.

How does AMD compete on thin and light when Intel's designs are more efficient and manufactured with manufacturing process superiority?

N.Broekhuijsen

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2009
[citation][nom]ram1009[/nom]This is NOT news. It was announced months ago.[/citation]
Then it's still news, just old news. :p

Anyways I've been a loyal AMD builder, and whilst I have no interest in upgrading my machine now I've already felt for a while that my next rig will be "Intel Inside"

G

Guess you could say when AMD fans heard the annoucement they were hopping amd.

jacobdrj

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2005
Nothing is changing. It is just a shift in the mentality... They don't need to worry about gigahertz... They need to worry about MARKETING and BALANCED PRODUCTS...

G

It's a shame, but it had to happen. AMD cannot compete with intel's size or budget. With no competition, we as consumers will suffer as Intel innovates less on high end computing.

He has a valid point. Why others cannot see the reason behind this baffles me.