Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

Soyo 6ba+ only recognizes 128mb of 256 ram

Tags:
  • Soyo
  • RAM
  • Motherboards
Last response: in Motherboards
Share
Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
August 19, 2004 12:01:46 AM

Archived from groups: alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.soyo (More info?)

I have a vintage 1999 soyo 6ba+ mobo that only had 64mb of pc100 cl2 ram. I
bought a 256mb pc133 cl3 dimm and installed it in the first slot with
nothing in the other 3 slots. (The mobo manual states that it is compatible
with pc100 or pc133 ram and that if only one dimm it should be in the first
slot.).

Only 128mb of the ram is recognized after bootup. There have been three
bios updates since I bought the pc with this mobo. Is it possible that I
need to update the bios for the pc to recognize all of the ram? The new ram
is identical in all specifications (e.g. 60ns, unbuff, etc) except it is cl3
instead of cl2.

Appreciate any tips as to where to go to fix this. Thanks.

More about : soyo 6ba recognizes 128mb 256 ram

Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
August 21, 2004 10:48:00 AM

Archived from groups: alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.soyo (More info?)

"Herman Mann" <hermanmann@aol.com> wrote in message news:<N5SUc.13$Co4.4184@news.abs.net>...

To use the 256mb dimms on this board they must registered memory if
your using a 100Mhz cpu. But also you could be just having a problem
with burn in. Your 64mb dimm only used half of the contacts in the
slot where the 256 dimm would be using all of them. If it's only using
the same half of the contacts it would only show 128. Try putting the
64mb dimm back into slot one and then put the 256 dimm in slot two.
See if it registers as 320mb. Running the two together shouldn't be a
problem.

The 64mb dimm was single sided memory and the 256mb dimm is most
likely double sided memory (the 64mb had chips on one side and the
256mb has them on both)
> I have a vintage 1999 soyo 6ba+ mobo that only had 64mb of pc100 cl2 ram. I
> bought a 256mb pc133 cl3 dimm and installed it in the first slot with
> nothing in the other 3 slots. (The mobo manual states that it is compatible
> with pc100 or pc133 ram and that if only one dimm it should be in the first
> slot.).
>
> Only 128mb of the ram is recognized after bootup. There have been three
> bios updates since I bought the pc with this mobo. Is it possible that I
> need to update the bios for the pc to recognize all of the ram? The new ram
> is identical in all specifications (e.g. 60ns, unbuff, etc) except it is cl3
> instead of cl2.
>
> Appreciate any tips as to where to go to fix this. Thanks.
Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
August 21, 2004 11:29:39 PM

Archived from groups: alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.soyo (More info?)

Thanks for your reply.
The processor is 400mhz Pentium II, bus clock: 100mhz, and the board is
i440BX-ITE8671.


However, I originally left the 64mb module in place and added the 256mb
module in slot 2. The mobo protested with incessant beeping. When I
reversed the modules (256mb in slot 1 and 64mb in slot 2) the mobo accepted
that and registered 192mb.


Is there another way to get the mobo to read all the memory when one module
has contacts on one side and the other module has contacts on both sides?
Also, the two-sided 256mb module, when placed in slot 1 alone, still only
registered 128mb. If there is a problem related to one-sided and two-sided
modules wouldn't that only happen when both types of module are in the
slots?


Appreciate your help.




"Jim B." <j.burghdoff@sbcglobal.net> wrote in message
news:a182f0ed.0408210548.5a4763db@posting.google.com...
> "Herman Mann" <hermanmann@aol.com> wrote in message
news:<N5SUc.13$Co4.4184@news.abs.net>...
>
> To use the 256mb dimms on this board they must registered memory if
> your using a 100Mhz cpu. But also you could be just having a problem
> with burn in. Your 64mb dimm only used half of the contacts in the
> slot where the 256 dimm would be using all of them. If it's only using
> the same half of the contacts it would only show 128. Try putting the
> 64mb dimm back into slot one and then put the 256 dimm in slot two.
> See if it registers as 320mb. Running the two together shouldn't be a
> problem.
>
> The 64mb dimm was single sided memory and the 256mb dimm is most
> likely double sided memory (the 64mb had chips on one side and the
> 256mb has them on both)
> > I have a vintage 1999 soyo 6ba+ mobo that only had 64mb of pc100 cl2
ram. I
> > bought a 256mb pc133 cl3 dimm and installed it in the first slot with
> > nothing in the other 3 slots. (The mobo manual states that it is
compatible
> > with pc100 or pc133 ram and that if only one dimm it should be in the
first
> > slot.).
> >
> > Only 128mb of the ram is recognized after bootup. There have been three
> > bios updates since I bought the pc with this mobo. Is it possible that
I
> > need to update the bios for the pc to recognize all of the ram? The new
ram
> > is identical in all specifications (e.g. 60ns, unbuff, etc) except it is
cl3
> > instead of cl2.
> >
> > Appreciate any tips as to where to go to fix this. Thanks.
Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
September 5, 2004 7:02:55 PM

Archived from groups: alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.soyo (More info?)

Herman,

Note that when you use 128MB or 256MB DIMMs, they have to be made with
64Mbit chips (low density). Other 128MB and 256MB DIMMs will not work. This
is because the chipset on this board can only address 16Mbit and 64Mbit
memory chips.
"High density" DIMMs (with 128Mbit chips) will only be recognized with half
of their capacity.
This limitation is valid for all socket 7 and early PentiumII/III chipsets
like your i440BX.
So "high density" DIMMs can only be used on modern Athlon/PentiumIII boards.

A "low density" 128MB DIMM usually has 16 1x64Mbit chips and a "low density"
256MB DIMM has 32 1x64Mbit or 8 4x64Mbit chips. So a 128MB DIMM with 8 chips
and a 256MB DIMM with 16 chips are usually "high density" and not usable on
these older systems.

Greetings,
Jan.

"Herman Mann" <hermanmann@aol.com> schreef in bericht
news:FVQVc.25$gj3.1269@news.abs.net...
> Thanks for your reply.
> The processor is 400mhz Pentium II, bus clock: 100mhz, and the board is
> i440BX-ITE8671.
>
>
> However, I originally left the 64mb module in place and added the 256mb
> module in slot 2. The mobo protested with incessant beeping. When I
> reversed the modules (256mb in slot 1 and 64mb in slot 2) the mobo
accepted
> that and registered 192mb.
>
>
> Is there another way to get the mobo to read all the memory when one
module
> has contacts on one side and the other module has contacts on both sides?
> Also, the two-sided 256mb module, when placed in slot 1 alone, still only
> registered 128mb. If there is a problem related to one-sided and
two-sided
> modules wouldn't that only happen when both types of module are in the
> slots?
>
>
> Appreciate your help.
>
>
>
>
> "Jim B." <j.burghdoff@sbcglobal.net> wrote in message
> news:a182f0ed.0408210548.5a4763db@posting.google.com...
> > "Herman Mann" <hermanmann@aol.com> wrote in message
> news:<N5SUc.13$Co4.4184@news.abs.net>...
> >
> > To use the 256mb dimms on this board they must registered memory if
> > your using a 100Mhz cpu. But also you could be just having a problem
> > with burn in. Your 64mb dimm only used half of the contacts in the
> > slot where the 256 dimm would be using all of them. If it's only using
> > the same half of the contacts it would only show 128. Try putting the
> > 64mb dimm back into slot one and then put the 256 dimm in slot two.
> > See if it registers as 320mb. Running the two together shouldn't be a
> > problem.
> >
> > The 64mb dimm was single sided memory and the 256mb dimm is most
> > likely double sided memory (the 64mb had chips on one side and the
> > 256mb has them on both)
> > > I have a vintage 1999 soyo 6ba+ mobo that only had 64mb of pc100 cl2
> ram. I
> > > bought a 256mb pc133 cl3 dimm and installed it in the first slot with
> > > nothing in the other 3 slots. (The mobo manual states that it is
> compatible
> > > with pc100 or pc133 ram and that if only one dimm it should be in the
> first
> > > slot.).
> > >
> > > Only 128mb of the ram is recognized after bootup. There have been
three
> > > bios updates since I bought the pc with this mobo. Is it possible
that
> I
> > > need to update the bios for the pc to recognize all of the ram? The
new
> ram
> > > is identical in all specifications (e.g. 60ns, unbuff, etc) except it
is
> cl3
> > > instead of cl2.
> > >
> > > Appreciate any tips as to where to go to fix this. Thanks.
>
>
!