Help! with internet connection!

ultraspank28

Distinguished
Mar 9, 2003
I'm a novice computer user. I have recently purchased a new computer, and I'm having a great deal of trouble with my internet connection. I have a cable modem, and I keep getting the message "cannot locate server" sporadically. Sometimes it lets me on, and sometimes not. I have spent hours on the phone with my ISP, have downloaded new drivers for my realtek rtl8139 pci/nic. used the "repair" tool, and disabled the firewall in XP. Still, it lets me connect sometimes, and other times, "cannot find server". It's not my Cable modem either, I've checked it. Help!! This is maddening!!

sturm

Splendid
Are u using a router or hub in the network if so connect the modem directly to the computer. Have u tried a different cable from the modem to the computer. Check in the device manager for any yellow signs and for any conflicts mainly irqs.
under internet options/connections/lan settings, try selecting and deselecting Automatically detect settings.
Does your ISP give u a static ip address or one that changes?
if all else fails remove any software that u installed for the cable modem and reinstall it.
Unless if voids a warrenty try moving the nic to another slot and also try removeing any other cards not needed to run the computer.
Its also possible u may have a problem with the cable line going to the modem. the cable company or isp should be able to check it for you.

casiowatch

Distinguished
Jul 26, 2002
I heard someone else talking about this problem. It could possibly be that the signal you get is too weak (im not sure if that applies to cable systems). If all else fails and you can't find the problem another way, have the cable company come down and check you line.

mvsiangco

Distinguished
Nov 22, 2002
problems like these, we usually call it intermittent!