Sign in with
Your question

What The HELL?? - Windows 7 explorer

Last response: in Windows 7
February 23, 2011 2:12:01 AM

OK, I'm not an IT pro or anything, though I consider myself far from a noob. In any case, this thing is driving me MAD and I would be grateful to anyone who can suggest a solution.

Take a close look at the linked screenshot. As you can see, there is a "BLANK NAME" folder in my C: root folder. As you can also see, its contents are identical to the actual contents of the C: root folder. Trick is, this "blank name" folder is NOT a copy, but a fake. An artifact, somehow created by Windows. Clicking on any of the folders it contains brings up the error message "blabla refers to a location that is unavailable". None of these folders can be deleted (windows cannot find the location specified).

This happened when I tried installing The Witcher Enhanced Edition. It was supposed to install to C:\TheWitcher (C: is an SSD). Immediately after the installation finished (with an error relating to the incompatibility of the Tages copy protection system), the blank folder appeared. Like I said, it cannot be browsed or deleted. Uninstalling the game also unfruitful.

I really don't want to reinstall Windows because of this crap, but it is killing me. Can't look at it. I mean, what is it? Is it friendly? Or a digital chameleon assassin alien from Mars? WTF??

The system was installed recently and is fairly well-maintained. Windows 7 HP x64. Software runs fine, no hardware problems.

I'm an atheist, but will convert to a religion named after the person who manages to solve this.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

More about : hell windows explorer

February 23, 2011 2:30:23 AM