AMD grabs 20% of the desktop market

josh_1413

Distinguished
Jun 7, 2005
Kind of sad, that the best chips only get 20% market share.
Oh well. idiots and fanboys keep Intel rich.

That's great news for AMD. I don't see Intel really coming out with anything that really competes. So i think it will only go up from here.

poncho

Distinguished
Apr 2, 2003
Yeah is interesting, I work in retail at a department store while im studying at uni and deal quite a bit with computers.
Of course most people who come into buy a computer from a department store know squat about computers and are just going off advertising or the old 'a friend of a friend told me I need this.' So 9/10 times people come in looking for a pentium.
We pretty much only stock the large oem's like hp, compaq, acer, etc etc and its sometimes difficult to get an AMD equivalent, but at the moment, depending on what there looking to use the pc for, Ill often try to sell them onto an AMD box if I can. You wouldnt believe how hard it is. Standard responses are usually
"Ive never heard of AMD who are they" and/or
"So why is it cheaper if its a faster computer"

The customers think your trying to swindle them into buying some second rate el-cheapo box.

Would have to agree that having the better technology is nothing if your customers dont know about it. I think that is the main thing holding AMD back. With out the gigantor marketing budget of INTEL they have to rely on word of mouth, and they need to hold a performance lead for a significant amount of time for that to really work in a broader market then just your average computer enthusiast.

slvr_phoenix

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
I couldn't agree more. Without doing some decent marketing for a change, AMD is going to stay small time. It's sad that they're only now just catching back up to where they were. I wonder if they'll waste this opportunity too and end up dropping back down again. I hope not. But then it is AMD...

endyen

Splendid