Sign in with
Your question

OC'ing a A64 3700+ San Diego

Last response: in Overclocking
November 8, 2005 11:20:09 PM

Is it possible, im kinda new to overclocking and this fourm. I know that with P4 based CPU's (and maybe every cpu that the core FSB speed is 200 mhz). So to get my celerons 2.0ghz speed you take the core of this celeron (which is 100mhz) and multiply by the multipler of 20 and get 2.0ghz. So if I could could OC my FSB to 200 mhz I would get a 4.0ghz processor that would burn up blacker then black.

My friend has a P4 3.0C which has the max of a core CPU FSB of 200mhz, his multipler is at 15 that gives him 3.0GHZ.

Now If I got some PC4000 ram (500 mhz, 250*20) and had his cpu I would need to raise his FSB to 250*15 which would give him a cpu speed of 3.75 ghz and his ram and cpu would be 1:1.

Now with this San Diego 3700+ i want to get, how would I oc that. Whats its max locked mulitplier??? How high can I OC the FSB before the chip becomes unstable.... im hopeing atleast to 200mhz... if thats not what it is already. If the San Diego 3700+ does have a core of 200 mhz FSB then that means I wouldnt have to touch it to be 1:1 with the PC3200 ram the ASUS A8N SLI Premium is compatable with.

Even if I dont have to OC that processor to be 1:1 with the PC3200 ram, could I OC it to work with PC4000 ram??

Or lets just forget the ram for this next question, could I alter the FSB to get some more clockspeed out of tat San diego 3700+??? If I can how high can you safely go 200mhz over, 400mhz over??

Im really new and newb to all this, so thanks to anyone with the understanding and patience.

More about : ing a64 3700 san diego

November 10, 2005 4:56:11 PM

The 3700 is a 2.2ghz cpu with a 200mhz 'fsb' (technically not the fsb because of hypertransport, but accurate enough for our use here) and 11 max multiplier.