First Time Builer Questions ... Plz Help

Spin_Cykle

Distinguished
Nov 11, 2005
I have always sat back in the lime light and watched all my buddies build their own gaming beasts and now it is time for me to dip into that pot and use some old equipment and buy some new stuff.

New System:

* indicates a new component

MB|ASROCK 939Dual-SATA2 *
CPU AMD 64 |3700+ ATHLON 64 939P *
GPU | LeadTek 6800 GT
RAM | Kingston Value RAM 2x 512 PC 2100
PSU | Antec 400W
HD | Western Digital 60 gig IDE
Optical | MSI DVD burner
Optical | MSI 52x CD dive
Disk | 3.5 Floppy

Like I said this is my first build so bear with me. First, thanks to everyone who replies. Im not sure where to start so these are the steps I am going to take when building the computer.

1. Remove all components out of the previous case. I will leave the powersupply in the case as there is no need to remove it.
2. Install new processor on M.B. then put heat sink (thermal compound- small drop) and fan on after installed into the board.
3. Install RAM while board is still out of the case.
4. Screw M.B. into case.
5. Hook up my IDE drives - my HD & optical drives (primary, secondary) ... i know how to set master and slave with jumpers
7. Plug in the GPU
8. Hook up any other necessary stuff like front mount USB ports, Power light to the case, ect.
9. Plug in the PSU
10. boot for the first time.

This is where my questions lie. I want to reformat and do a clean install of XP SP2 on this computer. When i boot for the first time can i boot with the XP disk in the CD and then reformat from there? If i cant, what do i do? After the reformat of xp all i have to do is install drivers for the M.B. and my other devices? If i have this all completly wrong I'm sorry. I really would appreciate any help that comes my way.

I know this is not the best computer money can buy you but I am on a limited budget and this set up seemed to leave me with more upgrade options than anything elese I looked at.

Scott

Rob423

Distinguished