Sign in with
Your question

Newbie here needs pro advice

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Product
Last response: in CPUs
November 17, 2005 4:50:37 PM

Alright ladies I am a newbie installing his new computer for the first time and I have some questions.

Here is what I got so far.

ECS K8 HT2000 Nforce4 A939 motherboard
1g Micron DDR400 Crucial ram
300g drive.

Im confused. The motherboard that I have has certain RAM they recommend. Is this what they only tested? Im concerned my RAM wont work. Also.

I havnt bought the AMD yet, I want to buy the 3000+ 1.8g? Anyone have any experience with this Ntune software? How much can I overclock this cpu? I dont see any jumpers on this mobo that seems to not support OCing.

Any help is appreciated!

Corey

More about : newbie pro advice

November 17, 2005 4:53:55 PM

RAM should work, since you have it, try it...

OC'ng is jumperless and done in BIOS, honey!... :wink:
November 17, 2005 4:57:48 PM

Awesome.

Now as for the AMD. ive owned a 733 for about 5 years (thus why im building) The 733 was the crap back in the day. Im trying to not have to upgrade for quite some time. How long do you expect the 3000 to last me? From Newegg 135.00 seems like a steal.
Related resources
November 17, 2005 4:58:39 PM

Don't use any software to overclock - Go into the BIOS and o/c from there. We have stickies in the overclocking > CPU section to help you btw.
November 17, 2005 5:01:27 PM

rgr that. I will make sure I read on those stickies. And as for the 3000+ lasting me?
a b à CPUs
November 17, 2005 5:16:01 PM

If you're going for OC, then spend the extra $20 and get a 3200+ - better multiplier options.

How long it will last is dependent on the games you play and the settings in the game. I'm still using a 1500+ from a build in 2001....but I don't FPS game with uber res/eye candy.
November 17, 2005 5:38:08 PM

how long it will last u is dependent on what you use the system for. For email + websurfing + homework etc? Umm... a loooong time....