Building another new system - I could really use some help!

dlevens

Distinguished
Nov 18, 2005
Brief Summary
I could really use some extra help on this new system build. I have been building systems for myself, friends and family for over 15 years now and to be very honest I think I have been completely happy with only one or two of these. I think my last rock solid box was a dual boot NT4 Workstation and win 95 for gaming box that just worked like a horse.

For some dumb reason I got on this Shuttle SFF kick a few years ago and man what a mistake that was. I must have built over 15 of these little boxes and most of my family is now on them, and not one of them is without issues. I finally migrated off my SN95G5 and SN25P so I can ditch these piles of junk on ebay.

So long story short I am desperate to build a rock solid box and as I cannot seem to pull this off myself I could really use some extra feedback to make sure I don't make any major mistakes. I do not have much history around here as I wasted all those years posting issues with shuttle sff cubes over at sudhian.

What I want
The most important thing to me is stability, rock solid with no issues.
Second is speed
Third is features like firewire, usb 2.0, SATA and great onboard sound
Fourth is quiet, if all the above can come in passive heat pipe then even better.

I do not plan to overclock, and all the times I thought I would overclock, I usually tried it and then backed off to stock speed to keep things stable.

I also do not use RAID. I run 3 systems at home and a nice Linksys NAS so backups happen nightly hard drive to hard drive.