Advice on Backup Hard Drive in External Enclosure

showhost

Distinguished
Jun 1, 2005
Hi all...

I'm a bit of a computer novice here who could use some sage advice on backing up your hard drive. I've done some research and it seems to me that a good way to go is to have an external enclosure containing a backup hard drive.

But when it gets to some of the finer points on mixing and matching hardware, I get lost. Will these two pieces of hardware be compatible?

AMS VENUS DS-2316B2BK 3.5" USB 2.0 Black External Enclosure. See it Here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16817145656

Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 ST380011A 80GB 7200 RPM IDE Ultra ATA100 Hard Drive. See it Here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16822148015

The whole IDE, ATA, SATA thing confuses me and I also don’t know if this setup needs to conform somehow with my current hardware configuration in my box Isn’t having a backup hard drive essentially like a flash drive only LOTS bigger? I mean, I would just be using a USB cable to send an “image” of my internal hard drive to the backup, right? I understand I would need to format the new hard drive but is there anything else I’d need to know or be aware of in terms of compatibility issues? I probably would need some software like Acronis TrueImage or something right?

Thanks!
:)

fishmahn

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2004
Those should work fine together - they're both IDE interface, so it should be fine.

IDE: Integrated Drive Electronics. Basically it means the drive controller is built into the drives. Before that the controller was a separate card (before everything was integrated onto the motherboard like today) and you had to match an MFM controller with an MFM drive, RLL to RLL, etc.

ATA: Advanced Technology Attachment. That is the next step from IDE, making it possible to connect CD's and other devices using the IDE interface. Generally today it's mis-used to define Parallel ATA (PATA) devices.