Sign in with
Your question

Photoshop CS2 Computer

Last response: in Systems
December 3, 2005 3:34:57 AM

Hello,
I am a semi pro photographer, who has just made the jump to digital, and purchased Photoshop CS2. I tried the demo out on my pentium m 1.5ghz, with 512mb of ram. While it ran, and convinced me to buy CS2...it was VERY sluggish. So, recently I have been researching buildinig a new PC. I built an Athalon 1ghz T-Bird about 5yrs ago that still works, so i have some experience. However with all the new stuff out, Id like to get some opinions from people 'more in the know'.

A few facts that I have gathered.

1. PS CS2, will benefit from multi processors
2. You can never have enough ram for PS
3. High end 3d graphics cards will not add to PS performance
4. Id like to use dual monitors. One for the PS tools, and the other for the image im editing.

So with that preamble i have decided to go either dual core athalon, or 2 opteron singles, with the upgrade path to 2 opteron duals.

With that out of the way, i have no clue about dual monitors, and graphic card performance.

What should i look for in a dual monitor set up? Will i need 2 identical cards to make it work?
What measure should i look at to judge 2d performance of a graphics card?
What 3d card has the best 2d specs? (i will occasionally play an FPS game)

I have a VERY old AGP nVidia Geforce in my old machine. What would be interesting would be if a mobo had a pcie slot for a new tech 3d card for the main monitor, but also had an agp for me to use my old card for my tools. i doubt thats possible though.

anyway, now im rambling, feel free to editorialize at will, and chime in with any expereince you have with photoshop.

thanks in advance

More about : photoshop cs2 computer

December 3, 2005 5:44:46 PM

Good idea on the dual core options. Let your budget decide which. The 2 dual socket, single core opterons will cost more than an X2, but there's that upgrade possibility...