AIW and 2000 pro

G

I just put together a dual system using windows 2000, a Tyan tiger 100 (440bx chipset) running twin PIII 550's. The hardware installation was smooth and it posted on the first try (whew!). after installing windows 2000 pro, i went to install the drivers for the all-in-wonder radeon. the drivers installed, but upon reboot, the screen in covered with a fine mesh of colors, and the pc freezes. DAMN!

after entering safe mode and removing the drivers and telling windows to uninstall the card, the pc boots to 2000 pro fine (using the standard VGA adapter setting).....ive tried the latest 2000 drivers, updated direct x to 8.0a, etc. I am relatively new to windows 2000 and somehow feel like im missing something. any ideas would be SERIOUSLY WELCOME! come on amigo's......a fellow tech-head needs some support. thanks.

ignore everything i say

G

I've had the same problem under Win2K. Unless there is some magic procedure used to install the card, I don't think you're missing anything. It's more than likely a driver issue. ATI is renowned for their terrible driver support. I tried everything I could think of trying to get mine to work, even several clean installs and no dice. I finally gave up and gave it to my roomate running Win98 and it works like a dream. If anyone has a fix for this I would appreciate the help too.

You might try the forums at <A HREF="http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?s=e0fed7b4211f7169fe0a465734f930b0&forumid=24" target="_new">Rage3D</A> for help.

Sarcasm maybe the recourse of a weak mind,
But it can be funny as hell.

G

what card are you running now? are you still using win2000 pro? have you tried service pack 2 yet? thanks a lot for you input!

ignore everything i say

G