Is it worth upgrading?

twall

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2005
Here is the thing guys:

I have been using a Radeon 9600 Pro (built by ati) for 2 years and some months. I have never had problems or anything, I am really an ATI fan. I have an agp motherboard, i don't have any problems with the speed of my computer, and don't feel like upgrading it for now, at least until summer. My question was, should I stick with my Ati Radeon 9600 Pro until I fully upgrade my computer to a motherboard with pci e, or should I upgrade it CHAINTECH Geforce 6600GT SA6600G for $150 at Newegg? I have read many artcles, in TG, and also other places which simply says NVIDIA is kicking ATI's boot with its new 6 - 7 series.

My Ati has 400 core clock, 300 memory, 4 pipelines, this card has 500 core, 900 memory, and 8 pipelines. And i bet the newer 6600GT gpu is better then 9600 gpu, but i don't know how much better, is it worth it, will i see too much difference?

Other question, if you don't like this card, what else can you recommend me under $150, better then 9600 pro. Keep in mind that i will eventually uprade my computer for good, so i do not want to pay much for little difference.

dhlucke

Polypheme
The whole kicking butt thing is a bit off. Nvidia is doing better on the very high end but in the midrange and low end (which is what you're talking about) they both have very good cards.

Your question really can't be answered unless we know what games you're playing and your full system specs. You keep saying you don't have any problems so I guess I'm wondering why you want to upgrade.

Keep in mind that if you upgrade to AGP now you'll have to get a brand new videocard down the road since you'll almost definitely get a pci-e motherboard.

margag_

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2005
if you have a p3 or 1st generation p4 based system a 9800pro (used or new) would be a greath cheap card in tune with your computer.