First time builder... AHHH HELP!

rd5432123

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2005
Hey ya'll... i'm a fisr time builder but i happen to be a little computer savvy. Here my comp break down....

- AMD X2 4400+ Dual Core processor

- Enermax 535 Watt ATX, SATA ready power supply

- Corsair TWINX Dual Channel 1024MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory(2x512MB)

- Cooler Master Vortex TX / Socket A/754/939/775/370 / Full Copper / CPU Cooling Fan

- XFX GeForce 6800 GT / 256MB DDR3 / PCI Express / SLI / Dual DVI / TV Out / Video Card

- Aspire X-Cruiser Thermally Advantaged Case - Black Case (not sure if i should do a Full tower or a Mid... i want a full, but not for the price!)

- Asus A8N SLI Premium NVIDIA Socket 939 ATX Motherboard / Audio / PCI Express / Gigabit LAN / USB 2.0 & Firewire / Serial ATA / RAID

- Misc. Stuff

Thats the breakdown. Cost is at $1300 (including $150 for Misc stuff). I've read A LOT of reviews and opinions and it seems like this is a great build. Is there anything overkill or that i should change due to compatability?!? I've already got the hard drives, CD/DVD rom, etc....

So what ya'll think? PLEASE ADVISE!!!

zoridon

Distinguished
Dec 9, 2005
I'll try to assist in your biuld.

1. Your choice of duel core is I believe the best bang for buck as far as duel cores go from the last review I read.

2. Would help if you posted prices your going to pay on power supply ( and other components) I like my system to be as silent as possible and have taken a liking to the modular power supplies which improve air flow since you only use the cables you need taking clutter out of case

3. Go with 2 Gigs of Cas 2 ram can find for a little over $200 as long as your not set on any particular brand. This will hold you over till you biuld your next system based on DDR2 and will not leaving you wanting for more later. Read article titled how much ram is enough on toms hardware.

4. Heatsink looks good to me but I went with a Zalman solution