so i jumped in with both feet !

G

This is my first attempt to install any Linux and mandrake 8 it was. during the install to my compac armada 7800 laptop I choose the wrong video setting and the screen is unreadable. is there a way, such as in win2k, to boot into a safe mode and change the video driver.

Kelledin

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2001
Well, not sure how exactly to do this in grub, but I'm sure it can be done...

You need to supply an extra boot option to grub. In LILO, you would just enter the extra option after your desired boot image when you get the "boot:" prompt. You should either supply "single" (for single user mode) or "3" (for multiuser, with no X windows support). "3" would probably be best for your situation.

Kelledin

"/join #hackerz. See the Web. DoS interesting people."

Kelledin

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2001
Oh, and even before you try that, you might be able to simply press "Ctrl-Alt-F1" (or one of the other 12 function keys besides F1) to get to a text-based console.

Kelledin

"/join #hackerz. See the Web. DoS interesting people."

priit

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
You can take graphics down just by pressing Ctrl+
Alt+(F1-F6) (like Kelledin wrote), log in as "root" and write "init 3". Then run "Xconfigurator" or edit file named "XF86Config" manually (should be in "/etc/X11/" folder). If you have got your video configuration right, just write "init 5" and press Ctrl+Alt+F7 to get graphical login...

silverpig

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
This is so simple. Just boot off the cd again and choose upgrade. You'll go through the upgrade process, and it'll just say that everything has been installed and there isn't anything to upgrade (all of 30 seconds there). Then it'll let you choose your video settings again...

Another computer wanted. Donations accepted. :^)

killall

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007