dual monitor support - integrated mobo or separate card?

tradernik

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2005
Hi

First post here, total newb. Putting this in the graphics cards section, hope that's okay. Trying my first ever build, and I need dual monitor capability (to be clear, I want desktop that spans 2 monitors so that I can drag and drop between desktops. I believe that for nvidia cards I will need the nview Desktop Manager, right?).

I am not a gamer. I do like to multi-task, i.e. burn a CD and listen to another and surf the net at the same time. 2D graphics only. At first I thought that I would need a separate video card for sure. Then I started to realize that I don't need the high end imaging of these cards. So I started to look at mobos with integrated cards that have two video outs, i.e.

MSI K8NGM2-FID

ASUS A8N-VM CSM

My problem is this. Right now I have two big CRTs, which I want to be able to run on my new rig. Then next year I want to be able to buy two LCDs and switch seamlessly without having compatibility issues. Recently someone suggested to me that on both the mobos I listed, one of the two video outs is DVI-D (digital signal only) and you cannot connect a CRT to it with DVI-to-AGP adapter. Is this correct?

So my questions are -

1) Is there a Socket 939 mobo with dual video outs that I can be sure will run either 2 CRTs with dongles or 2 LCDs when the time comes?

2) If not, can someone recommend a mobo/vid card setup that will meet my needs, the most important one being ease of setup, since I am a total newb and to be honest, I have never even started a computer in setup mide, never seen a bios screen, etc. I am doing this to learn and I realize that something is going to come up at some point and I will have to deal with it - that's no problem, I look forward to it; I just want to get as smooth a process as I can for this first build.

Any comments or help is appreciated - thanks.

Nik