XFX Geforce 6800GS XXX edition --> PSU requirements

Marklar_PoON

Distinguished
Dec 13, 2005
Hi,
I'm looking at purchasing an XFX Geforce 6800GS XXX edition 256mb SLI ready graphics card. I'm going to run it ona non-SLi board but am getting confused with power supply requirements. I currently have an OKIA 600W psu (btw does anyone know if these are a good psu?). I have seen that some power supplies have pci-express connections. Can someone please let me know what these are for exactly and would I need to upgrade my PSU to one that has one of these such as a Coolermaster 450W true power?

Thanks

bxmedic

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2005
With a 600W PSU you have enough power to push that card. If you do not have a PCIexpress power connector, adapters can be purchased or sometimes they come with the card. As far as OKIA brand.... I have no personal experience with that brand however I did a quick search and see that they are very inexpensive. That being said, it is usually a rule of thumb that you get what you pay for when it comes to PSUs. A good idiots test (no offense intended) is to hold it in your hand if it seems light to hold then it is most likely not of great quality. The heavier it is, the better quality. I'm sure that as I write this some unscrupulous PSU mfg is trying to line his product with lead so as to fool us all. lol :lol: . Seriously though. A cheapo PSU can fry your computer when it goes bad. I would say if you're not in the position to get one now;... if you have any lockups or are told by your computer of insufficient power, get a new one immediately.
PSU brands I like in order of quality: (just my opinion :wink: )
>PCPOWER&COOLING
>Enermax
>OCZ
>Fortron Source (FSP)
>Silverstone
>Antec
>Thermaltake

Dim XPS Gen 4
P4 650 3.4G
3072mb PC2 4200 (533mhz)
eVGA 7800GT 256mb
160G SATA (Windows XP SP2)
SB Audigy2 ZS
CDRWDVD Combo Drive
19" ACER Flat pannel

Marklar_PoON

Distinguished
Dec 13, 2005