The Nightmare Before Xmas (PC Upgrade/mobo help)

jtsawyer

Distinguished
Dec 22, 2005
Hello everyone,

I am new to building pcs (I have done one so far) and am looking for some advice on motherboards. The parts so far that I have bought for this upgrade are: 512x2 corsair ram, 6600GT PCI-E graphics card, I intend this weekend to buy an AMD 64 3200+ (Venice Core), but have been unable to decide on a motherboard. The hard drive and cd/rom etc I plan to just take from the old pc.

My only experience with motherboards in terms of building is with Asus, for the pc I built I used an Asus P4P800 Deluxe and have never had any problems with it.

That said, two of the boards I am considering for this upgrade are the Asus A8N-E and A8N-SLI, a subquestion in all of this is if I am not going to be using two graphics cards (which I am not) is there any performance enhancement with an SLI chipset with one graphics card?

Also, I am open to any other suggestions for motherboards I am trying to spend roughly $130.00. The pc will be used primarily for gaming. Also, this may be a bit off topic, but does anyone have any recommendations in terms of power supply or how many watts will be needed to run this kind of setup?

Any information would be greatly appreciated, especially regarding the motherboard issue. I forgot to mention I do not plan to do any overclocking maybe minimal within the bios or applications software as I would definitely fry things lol.

Thanks in advance,
Jim

RichPLS

Champion
I am fond of Asus's newest ATI chipset board, A8R-MVP, and the HiS X1800XT, but since you are going nVidia graphics, probably won't be interested, and it is a very good overclocker...
but it sometimes pays to be well informed...

nobly

Distinguished
Dec 21, 2005
If you are absolutely sure you are not going to go SLI or even upgrade to SLI, then the only thing that matters between these 2 mboards are 1) price and 2) features.