FSB on Athlon 64 X2 Question

jwhicks727

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2005
I'm just learning about overclocking for the first time and I'm getting used to the terminology as I design my new system. I'm looking at the X2 specs and I notice they have an FSB of 2000MHz?? Would this mean the multiplier is x1 then for the 3800+ to achieve its clock speed of 2Ghz? That seems kind of wierd from my reading so far, but maybe I'm not understanding something... can someone clarify this?

linux_0

Splendid
Each Hypertransport bus in each core runs at 1000MHz :-D

That means the two cores can talk to each other at 1000MHz which is really fast :-D

I think the 2000MHz FSB is marketing talk, while each core does have a 1000MHz FSB by itself that does not really equal a 2000MHz FSB.

Update: WRONG I dunno what I was thinking. It really is a 2000MHz FSB.

Please do correct me if I'm wrong.

The sad part is your RAM doesn't run that fast.

A Dual Channel config would be better for anything you want to do so grab a dual channel memory kit and use a dual channel capable chipset which would be any decent non-crippled chipset these days.

The nForce4 and VIA K8T8xx are both very good. I recommend the nVidia in most cases, the VIA being the 2nd choice.

JimAMan

Distinguished
Dec 26, 2005
I think the 2000MHz FSB is marketing talk, while each core does have a 1000MHz FSB by itself that does not really equal a 2000MHz FSB.

Please do correct me if I'm wrong.

This is not marketing hype. The bus allows communication both directions at the same time. Hence the 2000MHz! :wink:

the_guru

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2005
The newer Athlons don't have a FSB at all. They have a HT (Hyper Transport). It has the speed of 1000MHz but in order to make a fair comparison with other systems the effective frequence of 2000MHz is used.