First Time Build - Your thoughts appreciated.

BudgetGamer

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2005
My current computer is 6 years old and I am in desperate need of a new rig. I have done some research on the web, but I have had many conflicting recomendations. I plan on trying to build my own system this time and wanted to get your thoughts on the parts I should buy. I'm trying to keep myself on a budget of around $500-$600. Any sugegstions would be apprecaited.

I do not plan to overclock my system (I'm new at the do-it-yourself and want to just focus on one thing at a time). My main focus is being able to easily upgrade my system as new tech comes out in the future.

MoBo: I'm stumped on this part. I have read the positive reviews on this forum for the AsRock 939 Duel SATA-2 board for $69.00. I do not plan to overclock so this board seems dependable and fairly cheap. I am open to other thoughts.

CPU: Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 Venice core: $123.00 Would like a faster processor, but this is a good bang for your buck option. Any leftover cash can be spent opting for a better CPU

RAM: 1gig of Corsair Value DDR.

Hard Dive: I already own a 40gig Western Digital. I can up grade this at a later time and save money now.

Graphics Card: eVGA GeForce 6600 256mb $122.00 OR ATI-Radeon X800 Pro.

Sound Card: SoundBlaster Value 2 $52

Power Supply: Open to suggestions

Case: Open to suggestions.

No need for a monitor/mouse/keyboard at this time.

the_guru

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2005
Graphics Card: Pick a 6600GT 128MB instead it's much better than the 6600 256MB. The 6600 will not take advantage of the 256MB. It's only a way to fool the consumers, the 256MB is really slow DDR1 memory while the 128MB the 6600GTs use is really fast DDR3 memory.

BudgetGamer

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2005