Can someone recommend some things for a gaming machine build

Noff

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2005
Hello,

I have been building my PCs for many years now and I am about to build a new one. Its been almost 3.5 years since I built my last one and the changing technology makes me a noob all over again.

I need a case/PS, mobo, ram, processor, and vid card. I will reuse the monitor, mouse, keyboard, and speakers from my current PC. The primary function of this machine will be for gaming. I do not wish to experiment with OC'ing. I think that I should be able to get good performance without needing to tweak or risk my equipment. I have about $500-600 to spend on the mobo/case/PS/RAM and will spend whatever it takes to get the video card I want (prolly a 7800GT) since the vid card is so critical to gaming performance. This budget means that I will be buying items in the "best bang for the bucK" category and not top of the line, newest technology. Can you people give me some suggestions and recommendations as to what to buy? Like many others on the forums here, I am a loyal newegg customer and would appreciate links to items from them.

Here is what I do know I want from my mobo:
PCI-E 16x single slot - SLI does not really interest me at this time. I can always upgrade to the next generation of video card if one card is not sufficient. From what I've read, a single card from the latest generation almost always outperforms a SLI setup from the previous generation. No AGP slot is desired. I dont want to pay for something that I wont use if I can help it.
dual core: Seems to be a good way to get good RAM performance.
on-board sound and LAN: This will be sufficient for my needs initially. I can always upgrade them down the road if needed.
4 ram slots: 2x512MB sticks of RAM will be purchased right away and I would like 2 more slots or more for future upgrades.