Sign in with
Your question

NOOB - Have i pushed OC'ing too far?!

Last response: in Overclocking
December 29, 2005 2:22:36 AM

hello,
being an absolute noob when it comes to overcloking i dont really know what im talking about.basically i overcloked my athlon 64 3000(venice) from 1.8ghz
(clock speed, run speed i duno) to 2.1ghz(i think) then in a daring attempt i tryed to push it further (in bios puttin my external clock from 230 to 240 and PCIE clock from 115 to 120.) windows then didnt boot (which happend about 20mins before) but this time was different. Now when i try and boot i get, Sytstem is running in Fail-Safe state. Please recheck -BIOS CMOS SEtup.
this is a problem which i have and fixed before by loading optimized defaults, didnt work this time. So i press F1 to continue and i get -
DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER.
am i right in saying windows wants me to re-install itself?
PLEEEASE COULD YOU HELP, i would appreciate any sort of help at all.

Have i oc'd too far?

More about : noob pushed ing

December 29, 2005 7:43:47 PM

Unless you have very good cooling such as water cooling, limit OC to 10%. Most damage comes from heat.

CMOS error is a BIOS problem - since reload default failed, download new BIOS plus install tools and try a BIOS flash (MB site will have intructions).

Once flashed see if the BIOD detects your boot hard drive - as boot disk fail means the pc can't see your hard disk.

Good luck.
December 30, 2005 12:32:55 AM

Did you try clearing the BIOS?
I think you would have to flash the bios. Take the official ones from the site.

Good luck..!
Related resources
December 30, 2005 12:59:52 AM

Quote:
Unless you have very good cooling such as water cooling, limit OC to 10%. Most damage comes from heat.

BS.

1. You can OC really high on air without doing any damage. I've OCed my AMD 64 50% on stock cooling.

2. Heat don't kill, voltage do.

Quote: