• I would sell my car to get this
  • 0 %
  • Smoking hot
  • 4 %
  • something from best buy or dell
  • 22 %
  • will lag and glitch and drive me crazy
  • 18 %
  • this is a waste of money(not an option really because....)
  • 58 %
December 30, 2005 12:07:08 AM

hey everyone

I have $2500 to spend and it is used for gaming only, nothing else. i'm new to computers but i learned about what to get to speed things up :D .Basically I've saved the money for the CPU and video card, the most iportant thing in a computer.

mobo: ECS 945P-A (1.1) Socket T (LGA 775) Intel 945P
$77-cheap SLi solution

CPU:Intel Pentium Extreme Edition 840
$1012-how much better can a CPU get? the amd fx cpu simply doesn't match up in the clock speed and cache(2.8 vs 6.4(2x3.2) and 1mb vs 2mbx2, not that hard of a choice) Plus I hear dual core is the thing to get

Video:GIGABYTE Dual GeForce 6800GT 512MB (Dual 256MB)X2
$1108-cheap for a two 512mb video card and four core is WOW!!! plus it beats the *&&% out of ATI's X1800 card. not the 7800gtx 512 cuz i can't afford it.

HDD:Western Digital Caviar WD2000BB 200GB 7200 RPM 2MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100 Hard Drive X2
$172-going raid 0, cheap for the huge size

PSU-POWMAX AG II PSAG550A ATX12V 550W Power Supply
$17-70% efficiency, price

Case-Linkworld 3210-04-C2628 Black/Silver Metal ATX Mid Tower
$22 looks good for the price

everything else i can reuse. no need for cooling as my old p4 runs cool enough and cpu only gets cooler with smaller process and everything in here has cooling already

totals at 2400 so i have 100 dollar for shipping

comments, recommendation welcome

TIA

ps. why are there links added in??? i didn't make this to be a advertisement thread

More about : good kick butt gaming

December 30, 2005 12:28:43 AM

Quote:
hey everyone