OC a P4 2.8GHz Northwood Socket 478 on GA-8IPE-1000-L?

ChrisLee

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2005
How can I OC P4 2.8GHz Northwood Socket 478 on a GA-8IPE-1000-L motherboard? How far can I do it? I'm quite new to overclocking.
What would be the safe limits?

Thanks in advance.

Should overclock to around 3.5ghz (if its a C class - is it?), dont push the vcore over 1.7v (try for 1.6v max), and most gigabyte boards have a so called "secret" menu- gotta press ctrl+F1 to get the advanced options out such as timings, vcore and fsb settings.

High Vcore (and the heat with it) kills hardware, most overclocking otherwise wont damage anything.

As for temps - my 2.6c maxed out has seen high 60's on hot summer days here in Australia and it didnt bother it.

BTW if you dont know what C class is, check if windows detects your cpu as 2, or wether the FSB is 200mhz or 800mhz, where as all others will not show up as 2 and will have a fsb of 533.

ChrisLee

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2005
I guess I have a C class, with 2 processors showing up and a FSB of 200MHz.

I'd love to overclock, but is there a safe way to do it?

I know that the heat will kill it, so what type of fan should I have to invest in to keep it safe (Any brands)?

Plus, how high is recommended if I stay with stock cooler? (Out of curiousity)

Most of the P4c's overclock fine on stock cooling, push the fsb up a few mhz at a time and run some sort of app that pushes the cpu to max (eg Prime95).

Zalman makes good hsf's for cpus - quiet and efficent, but see how far you can push the cpu on stock first.

Should reach 3.5ghz pretty easily, if you have generic ram, set the ram ratio/speed down one to 1.6x/'333' so it doesnt limit you and then push the fsb up bit by bit, also remember to lock the pci bus and when you max out up the vcore a bit but dont go over 1.65v if posible.