Building a Multimedia and Gaming PC

FishingforAMD

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2005
Hello everyone.

This is my first post in the forumz here at Tomshardware.
I have been looking and can't decide on what to choose to
build my first computer.
I have some knowledge of where to mount everything, but I don't
know which parts will suffice in the performance I seek for my first computer.

I have a budget of $1300 which will not include speakers, mouse, keyboard, and monitor.

$1300 for the box. Also i would like the case to have a window on the side to display my killer system.
I know the best place to buy from, and that is where I will be purchasing all of the hardware; Newegg!!!
All help and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thank you very much.

FishingforAMD

fishmahn

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2004
Let the learning begin! :D

First however, I need to know what the system will be used for... (you gave the budget but I may build you a mack truck and you really wanted a Ferrarri...) Games? Just general use - internet, letters, email? Photoshop & digital photos? Video captureing and editing/encoding? Will you be overclocking? Are you experienced in OC?

I'll give you a few things to point you in the right direction, then I'll let you go make up a system. How's that?

Here's ideas for games, if something else it will need to be adjusted:

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice core (~$200)
nForce4 Chipset motherboard (~$100) (see below for comments)
7800GT 256MB video card (~$300)
2GB PC3200 RAM (~$200)
PSU - 450w or so (~$50) (see below for comments)
Case - your choice, I like cheap so you choose (???)
DVD burner (~$50)
HDD 250g 7200RPM SATA (~$100)

That gets you under your budget easily so you can upgrade some things when you get some details. Maybe dual core ($350 for X2 3800+ instead of the 3500+), or even more powerful video, or less video because you're not gaming, or...