New LCD, Poor DVD Playback

dahl_berg

Distinguished
Jan 2, 2006
I hope someone here has some insight into a resolution to my problem. I purchased a new 19" AG Neuvo F-419 LCD and since the dvd playback has been poor, I have a AMD 64 3500+, Chaintech VNF4-Ultra, ATI AIW X600 Pro w/ DVI & VGA. Video playback on my old CRT is much better than on my LCD w/ DVI, when I compare playback to my brothers machine (XP 3200, GeForce 5700, Generic LCD) my dvd playback looks horrible. I was hoping someone here would have experience trying to get this thing to look acceptable. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Tom

dahl_berg

Distinguished
Jan 2, 2006
I am experiencing "ghosting", pixelation around the edges of objects. I am not an expert in this area but the best way that I can describe it would be to say that edges that should be smooth are not. I would assume that my graphics card and my monitor (12ms) should be able to handle decent dvd video playback. Again, I appreciate any help or advice.

Thanks,

Tom

lakedude

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Well the rest of your system is plenty fast so the new monitor or perhaps some visual quality setting must be the problem. Motion blur happens only when things are moving on the screen and only on slower LCD screens. It is most obvious when something high contrast (like black to white) is moving quickly across the screen. During movement the images will smear as what was drawn does not fade completely before something new is drawn causeing a smearing effect. Still images would look perfect. If this is the type of thing you are seeing the fault lies with your monitor and nothing can be done about it except to get a faster monitor. My ViewSonic vs191b is too slow and exibits motion blur in spite of being rated at 8ms (lies!!). Note this type of error would not be seen if you paused a DVD, it is only visible during actual motion.