Amk

Distinguished
Oct 20, 2004
Hi All,

Please forgive me for my ignorance but I'm new to the custom build pc scene.

I'm looking to make a good games PC and have choosen the case: Antec P180

A lot of users recommend the Antec PSU or the OCZ PSU's. which are quite pricey.

Can someone please tell me why I should get a quality PSU over a ebuyer own brand cheapo?

Many thanks

Adam

Flakes

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2005
a quality PSU will help stability not only that but will supply strong 12volt and 5 volt lines to the components in the PC. a cheap PSU however will not and runs the risk of damaging your componentsdue to the voltage being too high or too low.

also a quality PSU will give better protection against spikes, how would you like it if you bought a 400 GFX then a spike killed it cause the PSU couldnt handle it.

personally i recomend Enermax Noisetakers.

Fortron fsp (sold under various brands including sparkle) is pretty cheap, and heavy. Ewiz was selling a 300w version with 12cm fan and 24 pin connector for around $32 shipped. Whatever brand you get, check the weight. It should be at least 4 lbs.

nobly

Distinguished
Dec 21, 2005
My friend bought a cheapo PSU from a local store. 500W it claimed for like $25 or so. 4 months later, he and I spent 4 weeks trying to diagnose random computer issues that kept popping up. The culprit? That piece of junk PSU!!! The voltages kept fluctuating and kept throwing the computer for a complete loop! In the end, all we could salvage was the HDD and the disk drives. Oh, and the floppy. Basically we called the motherboard and processor a lost cause and just did an upgrade while we were at it.