Building a Gaming Machine ...

go0ty

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2006
Okay So I'm looking at parts for a gaming machine now that I hope to purcahse within the next month. This is my first time building my own computer and there's alot of uncertainties but I think I have a handle on it for the most part.

This is what I'm looking at so far:

Processor:
AMD Athlon 3700+ - $222
http://www.newegg.com/Product/CustratingReview.asp?item=N82E16819103539

Video Card:
ATI Radeon X1800XT 512mb - ~509$
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814102643

Memory:
2x 1GB Corsair - 172$
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145579

I chose the X1800XT video card because the best, the 7800GTX, is definately out of my price range ($800 is a tad much), and the 512MB X1800XT seems to outperform the 256mb version of the 7800.

I chose that memory because it seems pretty inexpensive and it's gotten alot of good reviews so I'd feel confident enough purchasing it.

ANYWAYS, My main question here is what motherboard I should choose? With my graphics card in mind, I plan to someday in the future make use of ATI's crossfire technology. Does this mean that I can only buy motherboards that include crossfire? I could only find one ASUS mobo that specifically mentions crossfire and it seems to be out of stock ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/CustRatingReview.asp?Item=N82E16813131584 ) at the moment, so who knows when that may be available.

Any suggestions on a motherboard will be greatly appreciated, thanks!

AntiHax0r

Distinguished
Dec 22, 2005
I believe ATI crossfire tech.. is only limited specifically by card.. because you would need another card that is crossfire compatible.. where ATI has more flexible platform for dual/multi graphics than nvidia.. but still not quite mature nor available compared to SLI nvidia... and of course you would need a dual graphics ready mobo i.e 2xpcie 16x

godlyatheist

Distinguished
Nov 13, 2005