New gaming system, new builder, low budget

Nucleon

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2006
Hi, I’ve never built a computer before and would like to give it a shot. Take a look at my set up and hopefully everything will be compatible. I went through the$500 gaming rig on the build your own tab. It looked pretty good to me, but it was from Oct and I don’t know how much has really changed since then. I went through and added things I wanted to upgrade from it and this is what I came up with.

This machine will be mostly for gaming. I intend to do other things with it, but gaming is its main purpose.

My budget is $600 before shipping costs

Motherboard:
ASRock 939Dual-Sata Atx Amd Motherboard $68.00

Processor
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 1GHz FSB 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 $167.00

Memory
2x512mb Corsair XMS $100

Video Card
eVGA GeForce 6600 / 256MB DDR / AGP 8X / DVI / VGA / TV-Out / Video Card $114.00

Hard drive
Caviar SE WD800JD 80GB Hard Drive (Serial ATA-150, 7200 RPM, 8MB) $50

Power Supply
Antec TRUEPOWERII TPII-430 ATX12V 430W Power Supply $59 after mail in

Will this Psu do ok? How can you tell whether they have a breaker so the rest of the hardware doesn’t blow in case it fries?

Optical
16x Dvd $25

Case
Apex Case Will all the hardware fit? Will the power supply replace the one included no problems? $30

Total: $614
I was not planning on buying a sound card at this time, will the integrated sound work ok?

Are there any major errors that I have made? I am looking to do this mainly on my own I think it would be a great experience, but are there any tutorial sites that you recommend in case I get stuck? I know that I will experience problems as I have never done this before and any advice I can get would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance, Joseph.

CPUZ

Distinguished
Jan 3, 2006
What PSU does the case come with?