dfi motherboard

southbound

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2006
Trying to decide on a motherboard for a new build. I am building a new pc strictly for gaming,but am a complete noob. the building doesn't bother me but configuration does. I am wondering i f the lan party series boards by dfi work well on default settings . i would like to maybe try overclocking in the future but much has to be learned before even considering this. I am planning on an AMD 64 4000 and 2 raptor 74 in raid 0 or maybe 0+ 1 with a 250 backup.I have never really been into a bios except for the limited one of a pen 4 dell.I have been reading alot and the more I read the more confused i get.Thanks.

mpjesse

Splendid
The DFI Lanparty boards are very popular with gamers. I haven't seen a whole lot of bad things about them either. DFI boards have very customizable BIOS's, which is important to people like me.

I am wondering i f the lan party series boards by dfi work well on default settings.

That's sort of a hard question to answer. What do you mean by "work well" on default settings? If you mean "will everything run correctly and be setup correctly w/o having to do anything" the answer is yes- mostly.

Most BIOS's are good at detecting stuff the first time. However, you will almost always have to go in and change something. When I built my latest system (which was recently w/ an Asus A8N-SLI) everything worked fine on the first POST. However I did have to go in and change my memory timings. My memory is CAS2 DDR400 but the motherboard wanted to run it at DDR333 at CAS 2.5. It's a flaw in the BIOS, but thankfully I can manually specify timings and speeds. It works fine now.

The point is your almost certainly going to have to go in a change some setting. It may or may not be a major one. This website recently posted a BIOS FAQ article... you should read it.

http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/01/04/bios_from_a_to_z/