AMD Athlon 64 3800+ 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor $282

RAM
OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Dual Channel Platinum System Memory$235

Video Card
eVGA Geforce 7800GT$299

Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 250GB 3.5" Serial ATA150 $104

Total Price with shipping: $1,882

My primary interest is gaming. I am interested in overclocking, although I have never tried it before. Im ordering all of this from Newegg unless you think that I am overpaying and can show me a cheaper way without losing money on shipping. I would love all the opinions I can get, and any advice. If you see anything vital I have left out, please let me know. I already have all the software so I dont plan to purchase anything like that. I plan to order this around the middle to end of February. Also is that power supply compatible with the MB?

Thanks in advance,

Jordan

bourgeoisdude

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2005
Good choices on almost all fronts...I PERSONALLY do not trust that specific Maxtor hdd--you might be in the 6% that has to replace it in 6 months (I'm guesstimating based on how many of those maxtors I've had to replace here locally, so it may just be a bad batch in this area...). Other than that looks good.

Neol

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2006
Im having trouble finding a motherboard im comfortable with. From the reviews I have read on Newegg DFI doesnt have much of a reputation for having stable boards. Any recommendations?

bourgeoisdude

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2005
I've heard alot of raving about that A8N-SLi Premium ASUS board: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131540

I personally own an ASRock 939 Dual-SATA II mobo, it works fine for me. I've heard mine isn't as stable as others when overclocking though, and it is not SLI capable (THWG says it has good quality components if not OC'ed). Don't own the above ASUS board but I've heard nothing but good things about it. Wait for another reply if you're still unsure.

Neol

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2006