Sign in with
Your question

Athlon 64 X2 4800 or Athlon 64 FX 57?

Last response: in CPUs
January 7, 2006 2:16:18 AM

Hey everyone. I currently run an AMD 64 3500+ with 1G of Corsair XMS, an ASUS A8V Deluxe MB, and a 256MB Geforece FX 5950 Ultra video card. I use my computer for everything pretty much including games. My computer runs games fine for the most part. I'm not able to run new games like Call of Duty 2 and FEAR on their maximum settings. The main reason I'm looking at the X2 is because I'm a pilot and I run MS Flight Simulator 2004 all the time. Along with FS I'm also running on the side an advanced weather generating engine called Active Sky and an advanced ATC program called RADAR CONTACT. I just ordered another Gig of Corsair XMS Xtreme memory, still waiting for it, and I also have alot of add-on programs that are installed directly into Flight Sim. Add-ons such as aircraft and land, water, and weather graphics. The system runs pretty good when running all three programs together but I feel that there is some room for improvement. The Athlon FX is advertised as being engineered specifically for gaming but its not a dual core chip and costs $300 more than the X2 4800. I'm an AMD all the way kind of guy. I refuse to purchase an Intel. Call me narrow-minded if you'd like but I stand by AMD. Basically I need help deciding which chip to go with or would it be better if I just waited to upgrade. Please help. Thanks. P.S. I also have a 420watt power supply. Will that still be enough with the X2. It runs perfectly fine right now.

More about : athlon 4800 athlon

January 7, 2006 7:01:51 AM