Johanthegnarler

Distinguished
Nov 24, 2003
I'm searching for a ATX mobo with pci express video card, S ATA II, and good onboard sound. Obviously needs to be 939 amd.. needs to be extremely stable. NO OCING is going to be done on this..

Seems easy to find.. but every board i come across is either 150+ with SLI(which i don't need for this person) and/or gets many terrible reviews.
I'd like it to be great out of the box... so i don't have to mess with Northbridge fans and all that garbage that i'd do on my own pc...

Johanthegnarler

Distinguished
Nov 24, 2003
Yea I was looking at a few Epox boards as well.. these are all new boards for me.. i'm fairly new to the amd64 game.. they look good on paper.. but honestly i've had no experience with Foxconn and Epox.. both look good.. but are they?

MSI cannot be trusted. Out of the last 9 years of me building computers i've used nearly 10 MSI boards for Intel/AMD and haven't been happy with one yet.
Asus is on shaky ground with me as well.. but i would consider going back. I just need a ROCK stable board.

Sorry for posting this here too, i haven't been her for awhile since the new forumz and crap.. so i didn't see the motherboard general down there :(.

Pico_w

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2006
Sorry pal can't help you I don't have any experience with Foxconn or Epox yet. But MSI is really not reliable. You will have to wait for somebody else to tell you which mobo is more reliable.

AngelDeath82

Distinguished
Jan 7, 2006
If you are truly looking for something solid, and looking for SATA-II onboard, you are likely going to end up using a board based on nForce 4 and SLI technology in order to acheive those goals, meaning you will end up spending 150+ on the board. This is just the way it is, at current.