Final Build, $1,128.47 Last Opinions Please

fastfood15

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2006
Im going to order this system tomorror or maybe even later tonight if possible. From Newegg, of course! :)

Processor- AMD 64 3200

Video Card- XFX 7800gt

Disk Drive- Plextor

Case- ASPIRE X-Cruise

Hard Drive- Western Digital 250gb 16mg cache

Moniter- 3G Technology 17"

MotherBoard- Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9

Power Supply- LOGISYS 550w

Thermal Paste- Arctic Silver 5

Memory- CORSAIR 2x512

Total: $1,128.47

This is my first build and im going to go broke buying it but thats all cool. So if anyone can comment on it that is awsome. I will mainly be playing games and stuff on it, and of course homework. :roll: I noticed the motherboard's FSB is 800mhz but the processors is 1000mhz, if thats a problem can you please tell me what would be better? With the moniter i just want a cheap lcd display, nothing fancy. I was wondering if the resolution of the screen, being 1280x1024, was going to cause any problems. I have some old 1024x768 crt's lying around so backwards compatibility is no problem. I just want to know if that resolution will cause any problems with games or sharpness. I kindof wanted a widescreen moniter, but if screws everything up i cant move back donw to a 15" lcd. The power supply is cheap, i know, but the reviews make it seem that it works just fine.

So any opinions and wishes goodluck are very greatly appreciated.

Distinguished
Jan 11, 2006
I assume you're gonna want to overclock the hell outta the Venice. Everything I mention can be found on Newegg.

I personally would go for the eVGA 7800GT - you get Quake 4 for free, it's factory overclocked, and the warranty is terrific.

Spend the extra $15 and get the CG 3200+ Venice - just search for the 3200+ Venice - there's a reason why that one costs $15 more.

Do you really need a Plextor? If not, consider the $45 Lite-On, which is also pretty good - not a Plextor, but if you need to save...