Should I Wait For M2? Opinions Please

shan2752

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2006
Currently, I have a P3 - 866 MHZ, Geforce 2 based system.

I definitely need to upgrade and I'd like to do my own build, which I have never done before.

I am considering getting a single core AMD 4000 (San Diego) with (2) 7800 GT's in SLI mode. I am an avid gamer and would like to get back into PC Gaming.

I know that the industry is at a crossroads with dual core processors and AMD's upcoming M2 format. I hear that M2 motherboards will not be available until the 2nd quarter of this year.

Should I wait for M2 or perform a build based off today's Socket 939? I realize that certain kinks will have to be worked out, most likely, once the new M2 format is introduced. So I may not want to jump on the bandwagon with the first generation of M2 based motherboards.

I want to spend around $2,500 and I want to be able to use the system primarily for gaming at least for the next three years.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Jagger

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2005
Its the eternal dilemma...

Major milestones over the next 8 months:

M2 chipset - will support faster ram. Also, you will likely be able to upgrade the processor over the following 2 years, if you desire (the 939 socket ends with the new FX)

Vista - it's unclear whether it will be worth it or not. It will be one serious resource hog (not just HD space and RAM, but also GPU power).

GPUs - will increase in power (signifigantly) every 6 to 8 months.

My suggestion is as follows:

Build yourself a nice system now using a dual core processor. I like the X2 4400+ b/c it easily overclocks and has a 2 MB cache. As more and more programs get written for dual core (and patched), you will see the X2s pull away from the single core processors.

You can't wait until all the latest and greatest technology is out because you'd be waiting forever. However, any system you build, considering your current rig, will be mindblowing for you.