Your question

Finally building a BIG-BOY!

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
January 17, 2006 6:21:37 PM

Hey guys I am finally building a new computer for myself. Just playing games, burning DVDs and basic application things. I have been building systems for about 8 years now and want to know what ya'll think about my choices for my budget. I dont want to spend anything over $1,500. So here we go!

Case - Black Antec case from previous built system

PS - ANTEC TPII550EPS12V TRUEPOWER 2.0 550W - $95

MoBo - DFI LanParty UT nF4 SLI-D - $159

CPU - AMD Athlon 64 3700+ Socket 939 San Diego - $223

Memory - OCZ 1gb 184-Pin DDR 400 System Memory - $93

Sound - On Board

Hard Drive - Western Digital Raptor 74gb SATA - $153

Video Card - XFX Geforce 6800GS - $195 or BFG Tech GeForce 6800 256mb OC - $254

DVD Burner - Pioner Black DVR-110 D - $40

Monitor - ViewSonic E90FB 19" CRT Monitor - $205

Floppy - NOT NEEDED

I/O - Keyboard / Mouse / WiFi Card already have

OS - Windows XP Pro already have

Let me know what ya'll think. I dont know which Video Card to get so Input on that would be great also. Thanks!

- Dave

More about : finally building big boy

January 17, 2006 6:33:33 PM

I just put together a system for similar usage with a similar budget (though mine is a bit smaller, although I already have a monitor, which pretty much balances our budgets). I did a lot of research about each part and I'm pretty confident now that the build is gonna last a long time and not dissapoint.

Check it out here:
http://forumz.tomshardware.com/hardware/spend-1100-hehe...
January 17, 2006 7:05:28 PM

haha thats funny i read that before I posted to this forum. Yeah looks good, why did you choose that MOBO? where is a review of it? No SLI
Related resources
January 17, 2006 7:21:16 PM

Quote:
haha thats funny i read that before I posted to this forum. Yeah looks good, why did you choose that MOBO? where is a review of it? No SLI

- P4 2.4ghz w/ HT