Which version of XP to use with AMD X64?

fedude

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2002
MS released their X64 versions of XP early last summer. I'm building a PC with AMD 64 3700+.

Should I load 32-bit or 64-bit version of windows XP?

Is the XP64 stable enough?

sylvez

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2005
sorry thread starter i would like to hijack this thread a while and i think u might find this interesting too.

will 32bit apps work on a 64bit windows? if they do, will 32bit apps face problems?

cos i thought 64bit windows have some kind of 'emulator' to run 32bit apps?

=] thanks in advance

ColdBreeze

Distinguished
Jan 11, 2006
I run Windows XP Professional x64 Edition on my 3700+ as well as on my 3400+ Laptop, I have been running it on my Laptop for a few months and on my Desktop for a couple weeks. The only problems I found is obviously drivers, but my mobo's website (ASUS) has all my drivers for x64 and I haven't really personally run into any software problems, than again, I don't use a large variety of software other than Games, some 3D Modeling Programs, VC++ 6, some Converting and Office applications, and so far they all work fine.

I have found a few games which will not work, I know there's probably a list somewhere, but the ones I can't get to work are: Area 51, Doom 3, Splinter Cell 3, and Fahrenheit. Unless you absolutely must play one of those games, I wouldn't necesarily shun against x64, I like it. As for stability question, it's a very stable OS, never had one BSOD, that's probably brought on by the fact that Windows XP Pro x64 is based off of Windows Server 2003.

I'm sure there's alot of other problems with software, but Office apps (I use Office 12 Beta, Office 03 runs fine too) run fine and CD-DVD apps (DivX, Converting Apps, etc.) all work fine for me. I say if you must use XP 32-bit, just Dual-Boot with x64, you'll like it.