I've got to catch up

juef

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2006
Hey all!

I've been using my good old AMD Thunderbird 1200 for a few years now, and it's beginning to, uh... stink! :) I can build my own system (which is what I did for my current one), but I'm not really up-to-date with the new hardware.

Basically, I'd just like to buy a new CPU, motherboard and RAM, and graphics card if necessary. I believe my ATX case can handle the new motherboards...right? And my power supply's P4 ready, but I'm not sure if it is 300W or 350W. Also, my current graphics card is an AGP ATI Radeon 9200, and I'm fully satisfied with it, but I'm wondering if it'd be woth going to PCI Express. I believe motherboards with PCI Express don't have AGP slots, right?

I'm looking for an Intel processor preferably. I believe Socket 775 is newer than Socket 478? This item:

Intel P4 630 [3.00Ghz] *Retail* S775 -FSB800- 2Mb

seems like a good performance / price ratio to me. But then, which memory and motherboard should I choose to go with it? Prices on thoses pages are in $CAN. I would like 1GB of RAM, but can accept 512mb, and I only need a basic motherboard, i.e. I won't be overclocking or using any RAID feature, and I already have separate network and sound cards.

Every comment is more than welcome. Thank you all, and have a nice day!

Jagger

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2005
If you want to "catch up", go with AMD. I used to be exclusively Intel, but discovered how much better AMD's price/performance ratio is compared to Intel.

Even if you stick with Intel, you will have to upgrade your PSU. It's too weak to run most modern components. Go for a 550W, it will last you a long time.

I can't recommend any Intel systems, but this is my AMD recommendation:

X2 4400+ (~500)
2 GB OCZ Plat. (~200)
Asus AN32 (~240)
Seagate SATAII HDs (~140)
eVga 7800 GT (Mod. 517) (~320)
Enermax PSU (~140)
Case (~100)