Sign in with
Your question

first time builder on a budget

Last response: in Systems
January 25, 2006 8:27:00 PM

greetings and salutations.

i am looking into/trying to build up the courage to build my next computer and am looking for advice and/or suggestions from people who have more experience.

i am mostly concerned with quality and i have a budget of $600-$700 (i just lost the interest of most of the gamers right there :lol:  ) and will be using the computer for older games, music and non-professional video editing (i am a teacher and make a video yearbook every year.) i don't plan on overclocking... mostly because i don't really know what it means (just lost the interest of any gamers still reading :lol:  )
another consideration is noise level since the computer will be in the same room that i sleep in.

here's what i have so far: sorry i don't know how to make links :( 

~$100
Antec LifeStyle SONATA II Piano Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 450Watt SmartPower 2.0 ATX 12V V2.0 for AMD & Intel systems
- can anyhting beat this for quality and quiet?

~$100
EPoX EP-9NDA3+ Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce3 Ultra ATX AMD
- need firewire and agp slot for reusing video card
- is epox a good quality board?
- looked at dfi boards but many reviews say they are not for beginners... is this true?
- should i be looking at 754 socket boards/processors on my budget or am i better off in long run with 939?

~$180
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3200CGBOX
- seems to be the best bang for the buck in my price range?
- should i be looking at 754 socket boards/processors on my budget or am i better off in long run with 939?

~$120
Crucial Ballistix 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered System Memory
- should i save $25 and just get ordinary ram since i'm not overclocking or is it a smart investment to upgrade?

~$90
Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 ST3120813AS 120GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive