I'm an absolute beginner.. and absolutely insane..

EBuyGum

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2006
Lets start with what I have :

AMD Athlon 64 3700+ CPU Skt 939 San Diego
Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9
OCZ Premier Dual Channel Kit 2x512MB DDR400 PC3200 CL 2.5-3-3-7
Sapphire X800 GTO2 256

Overclocked the graphics card up to x850 XT PE levels no problem (luvvly!) but not having much luck elsewhere.

I don't wanna do anything too extreme.. but from all the reviews I read, the 3700 was o/c-able to around 2.6 on stock cooling just by hiking up the FSB to somewhere around 237-ish (stock 200). Can't get the thing past 218 though.. anything more and I don't get anywhere near Windows.. just reboots. (At 218, it runs at 28-31 degrees).

To save anyone the trouble of saying so, I put my hands up right now to being an o/c novice, stupid, naieve, annoying and not fit to own a computer.. never mind try to o/c one. That said.. I've got the bug.. so any help at all would be appreciated!!

Cheers

survivor

Distinguished
Jul 26, 2004
Possible reasons:

1- Cheap and unsufficient psu

2 - Your board is not much overclockable (not sure about it)

3- mOST probably you are doing something wrong it is impossible to get over 218 with those rams.

give some info about what have you done to reach 2.6 ..

EBuyGum

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2006
Many thanks for your reply - and sorry.. I meant to mention the PSU. Don't know much about it, other than its an X-Power 400w - and that it received some reasonable reviews.

As for the mobo.. again, the reviews suggested it was reasonably spec'd (spec http://www.giga-byte.com/MotherBoard/Products/Products_Spec_GA-K8NF-9.htm ). I guess the important bit is this :

Its an nForce4
CPU HT / Multiplier / Vcore Voltage adjustable via BIOS
PCI-ExpessX16 Voltage / Clock adjustable via BIOS
DIMM Voltage / Clock adjustable via BIOS