crossfire/SLi

sneakmonkey

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2006
lately i have been interested in crossfire but looking at the 3 latest crossfire motherboards im pretty dissapointed. im pretty new to this and i was wondering would crossfire work in a sli motherboard? it doesnt use the chip it uses two dvi cables so i dont see why it wouldnt work (unless of course im forgetting something like crossfire software that only comes on those 3 motherboards im still new to this and just want this question answered)

Baer

Distinguished
May 8, 2006
Crossfire seems to have been hurried. It appears to be a less mature solution than SLI. For example, I run two monitors for general work (graphicd design, writing, analisys Etc) and the latest ATI drivers and especially crossfife give me far fewer options when running multiple monitors. When gaming I use one monitor and all I have seen is that if you want to use two GPU's SLI is the better solution. After all, 3DFx invented it and NVIDIA bought them.
I have nothing against ATI and I have an ATI solution in one of my computers but right now, today, if you want the most compatable and trouble free multiple GPU solution as well as the better MOBO options I would go SLI.
I will bet that both companies will have anouncements in a few weeks right around E-3.

RichPLS

Champion
Whatever it seems, it was not hurried... As the debut was pushed back a couple of times.

I have the Asus A8R32-MVP, but only a single X1800XT, and I have nothing but highly positive commnets running an Opteron 175 at 2.64GHz @ 39C and 64C on the X1800XT.

Baer

Distinguished
May 8, 2006
Just because they delayed it does not mean it was not hurried.
Do you run two monitors using different settings with differing applications open on that card with its present drivers? I have not been able to do that with ATI.
All I said was that for me, ATI is a poor choice and in general Crossfire seems to be inferior to SLI at this point.