5u1c1d47m0nk3y

Distinguished
Jan 27, 2006
So now I can spend $1200 on my computer. That is including shipping, the os, and good productivity software. Help me out, this is my first build.If you have any thing you think is bad tell me another thing that is better in the same price range. Also feel free to change the whole system around as long as you keep it in the budget.

Specs

Revision 6

Case - 70.99
XION XION II

PSU - 49.99
Fortron 450W

Mobo - 129.99
DFI Lanparty UT nF4

Hard Drive - 89.00
Seagate Barracuda 160Gb

Video Card - 295.00
eVGA 7800GT

RAM - 169.00
G.Skill 2Gb

Processor - 301.00
AMD Opteron 165

OS - 99.99
Windows XP

Other Asorted Goodies - 35.47

Total Price (Inclu. ship.) - 1319.85

You will notice there is no optical drive. That is because I am taking it from my old crappy HP.

maxxum

Distinguished
Jan 30, 2006
No to Maxtor - yes to Seagate or WD ...

No to Works and just dl Open Office for free - much more powerful than Works and it opens and saves Word files.

Money you save from Works can be used for mid-level sound card (Audigy), better mouse/keyboard or nice wireing.

FreshMeat

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2006
That case is going to be loud 3x80mm fans and 1x120mm fan. Try something like the Antec Sonata II. Keeps things nice and cool/quite and has great build quality. Also has a better quality PSU. Nothing worse than trying to track down build problems caused by a crappy PSU.

Unless you really like the looks of the Aspire.

purelithium

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2006
No to Maxtor - yes to Seagate or WD ...

No to Works and just dl Open Office for free - much more powerful than Works and it opens and saves Word files.

Money you save from Works can be used for mid-level sound card (Audigy), better mouse/keyboard or nice wireing.

I was just about to say everything that you just said!