Sign in with
Your question

Any recommedations? Need Firewire/USB 8 channel soundcard

Last response: in Components
February 2, 2006 6:29:36 AM

Hi,

I'm a programmer - NOT a sound expert - therefore I really need some advice from you people :-) I have to build a software solution where we encode 8 soundtracks onto a soundsystem that takes 8 seperate channels. For practical reasons we need to use a mobile unit (laptop or other) as playback device. Since a laptop is not capable of doing this we need an external soundcard solutions, and for speed and capacity I assume Firewire or USB 2.0 would be needed. BUT - I have no clue whay I'm really looking for, and any advice would be greately appreciated...

For instance, I looked at a Terratec product: http://www.tomshardware.com/2004/06/21/terratec/page2.h...

But I'm uncertain if a 7.1 system is at all capable at producing 8 seperate channels with audio/voice - is the lower frequency/bass/subwoofer channel at all capable of delivering sound at normal frequencies?

If anyone has any tips on encoding this with e.g Windows media encoder as well - again tips are welcome... :-)
February 2, 2006 3:11:39 PM

Is this what your looking for?
Most normal sound cards are only going to output 8/7.1 channels.
The bass line is low end frequencies only.
March 16, 2006 2:48:25 PM

It almost sounds like you need a pro audio interface. Are you looking for 8 inputs as well? There are a number of professional interfaces that use USB2 and/or Firewire, many with 8 descrete outputs, some with 8 descrete inputs as well. I actually use a Mark Of The Unicorn 828 audio interface, which is a firewire interface with 8 in/out. You can also check out devices M-Audio, PreSonus, Lexicon, Digidesign, Echo, Mackie, and a few others.