Trust

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2005
Hello everyone, im in need of help. Sorry if this is the wrong section, i would also like to inform you that my native language isnt English so my grammar and spelling might not be 100% accurate.

Anyway to the problem, i recently bought a Nvidia Geforce 6800 from Gigabyte, installet it and everything went smooth. But when playing some games my computer started to freeze, first the graphics then the sound. It last for about 10-30 secs and sometimes i get blue screen too.

The big problem is that it occurs EVERY time i experience light/flash/smoke effects up close. For instance played Swat 4 Demo and when i used a smoke nade it happend, same when i got shot up close. It happens on all games and ive tried about everything (Im no expert heh)

I reinstalled the computer and got latest drivers, also tried older ones but same problem there. So now im calling for help, after 2 months with this problem i dont know what to do or who to ask. So please if you know anything about this problem, maybe even a solution please let me know.

Regards Trust

lonewolf1215

Distinguished
Jan 30, 2003
Do you have any of your settings overclocked? (Memory, Graphics, etc.). How big is your power supply?
These are the areas I would check first. My friend had his memory timings overclocked and his graphics card overclocked and ended up with the same problems. His system even rebooted on its own a few times. If you have your timings overclocked restore them to the default settings. If that isn't the case then I would look at the PSU. If you have less than a 400Watt PSU I would recommend upgrading as the 6800 Graphics card takes a lot of power to run. You might also want to check and see how hot your system is getting by downloading MBM 5. See how hot your CPU is getting. You can download it here: <A HREF="http://mbm.livewiredev.com/" target="_new">http://mbm.livewiredev.com/</A>

palmerg

Distinguished
Jan 27, 2005
Just some questions before answering quickly: