powerfulpiggypits

Distinguished
Feb 8, 2006
Right on. This is my first build and will be totally from scratch. I want it for gaming, sound editing, and general multipurpose use (read ripping, encoding, etc). I would also like it to be able to encode videos for my cell fairly simply too. At some point I want to go SLI, and I wonder if the PSU can handle that. If you would please comment on compatibility and size issues I would appreciate y'alls help. Thanks.

Com Pu Tor Specs:
Case
Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000SWA Silver Computer Case With Side Panel Window - 105

Mobo
ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI X16 ATX AMD Motherboard - 229

CPU
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Toledo 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Dual Core Processor Model ADA4400CDBOX - 463

PSU
Antec TruePower 2.0 TP2-550 EPS12V ATX12V 550W Power Supply - 99.99 w/ 19A on both +12V rails

GPU
eVGA 256-P2-N517-AX Geforce 7800GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 VIVO PCI Express x16 Video Card - 314

HDD
Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - 110

Sound
Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music - 116

Optical
PLEXTOR Beige SATA DVD Burner Model PX-716SA/SW - Retail

RAM
CORSAIR XMS 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR400 SDRAM Dual Channel Kit System ... - 105 w/ 2-3-3-6 timing (should i get different timing? what would it do?)

OS
XP Home OEM-93.95

Etc: This system is going to set me back a good $1800, after shipping, so I think I'll worry about extra heat sinks and fans after everything is up and running. Also, I'm thinking of getting the bones first (case, PSU, HDD, etc.) then getting the meat (GPU,CPU,MOBO) at a later date so it won't kill me. Once again, thank you for taking your time in reading this.

joset

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2005
Hi, there!

Since you're"cooking" from scratch, why not go with quality vegetables - Windows XP Professional - with some SP2 herbs...

Cheers!

Maxiius

Distinguished
Jan 25, 2006