elLOCOmutha

Distinguished
Feb 6, 2006
Hi all
I just ordered 1GB 2x512mb of RAM, I have never placed RAM in my computer and its my first time. The sticks I have (2x512mb) are in slots 1 and 3, doesw it matter where I place my new sticks of RAM? Should I move the sticks I have now into slots 1 and 2 then place the new ones in slots 3 and 4? Or doesnt it matter what slots they get placed in?

thank you for any help

luminaris

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2005
Chance are your running dual channel RAM on that board. If that's the case, just place the new sticks in slots 2 and 4.

Like dvd said, give us the board specs and also the existing RAM specs along with the new ones.

Sup dvd? :D

elLOCOmutha

Distinguished
Feb 6, 2006
Ok here are my specs:

Motherboard: Intel D925XCV 925X
CPU: Pentium 4 3.4GHZ 1MB 800FSB LGA775
Memory: 2 GB Crucial 512MBx4 DDR2 PC4200 (upgraded from 1gb)
Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 160GB 8MB Cache Serial ATA with NCQ HD
Video Card: ATI Radeon X600 XT 128MB PCIE
DVD Drive: 16X Dual Layer DVD+-R/W Recorder
CD Drive: Lite-on 52/32/52 CD-RW
Floppy Drive: 1.44MB
480 Watt Power Supply

im changing the vid card to this:
eVGA 256-P2-N516 Geforce 7800GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 VIVO PCI Express x16 Video Card

Carefulbuyer1

Distinguished
Feb 20, 2006