Comp issue with eVGA 7800 GT

deusX

Distinguished
Feb 17, 2006
Ok, I have a really weird issue and I will try to make it as easy to read as I can in hopes you guys can help me out. Keep in mind, I am not a novice, I have built a lot of computers in my time. But there are still somethings I can't figure out myself.

Ok, so I currently own a AMD 64 3500+, Sound Blaster 2 ZS, TDK 48x cdburner, DVD-ROM, MSi mobo, AGP 6800 GT, 2 gigs of Crucial Ballistics dd400 4x512, Enermax 460 watt psu, and a Maxtor SATA 80 HD. Great setup I must say. Runs everything I could imagine smooth.

Well, I decided last week to do some upgrades and bought a ASUS a8n-deluxe mobo and a Over Clocked version eVGA 7800 GT PCI-E 256meg. Both these products supposed to be as good as they get. Well, I got these on monday and took out my AGP 6800 GT and mobo so I could put my new ASUS mobo and 7800 GT in. Everything was working fine, except I noticed that new ASUS mobo was reading my memory at ddr333 instead of ddr400. I fixed that in the settings. Anyways, everything was going great that evening. I left the computer running over night and woke up the next morning to see it frozen in hibernation mod. Not good, so I rebooted and started installing some stuff and playing regular old Counter Strike. I got an immediate physical memory dump as soon as I started to play CS.

After that issue, things started progressively going downhill. It got to the point that when ever I restarted the computer, it just stayed at the windowsxp boot screen with the little blue bar at the bottom scrolling, freezing, scrolling, freezing, and etc. Well, I thought to myself, maybe the HD is bad, so I went out and bought a new HD, but after the install, it was doing the samething still. So then I thought, maybe I need to up my PSU. So, I went out and bought a Antec 500 v2.2 watt psu to replace my Enermax 460 v1.2 watt psu.