Sign in with
Your question

OC beginner seeking help

Tags:
  • Overclocking
  • Product
Last response: in Overclocking
February 19, 2006 8:37:41 AM

I finally purchased and built my first build about a month ago, and I doubt I could have done it without all the knowledge garnered from the TG forums. So now, having tested it for about a month, I'm looking to push it further. The problem is, I'm really new to OCing, and while I've read tons of guides on the process, many are hopelessly outdated or incomplete. So once again I turn here.

See my sig for hardware specs. For starters I'm looking to do a modest overclock from 1.8Ghz to 2.0Ghz--in other words, pushing my FSB to about 223 Mhz (since the CPU multiplier is locked at 9x). So, following the rec's of most guides, I lowered my HT freq to 3x and memory freq to DDR 266 (133 Mhz) in order to avoid problems before pushing the CPU slowly up to 223. Having run Prime95 for several hours without any obvious problems/errors, I then upped my HT freq to 4x (I understand the goal is to keep (HT Freq) x (FSB) around 1000?).

Here's my problem, though: When I go to re-up the memory frequency, my timings go from 2-3-2-5 (stock settings) to somewhat higher. And unfortunately this is the point in most guides where my comprehension of OCing hits a wall, since they don't really explain in dummy terms how to OC RAM. So, my questions:

1. After finding a good setting for FSB, <i>should</i> I raise memory frequency back to previous settings, or to a little lower? If the latter, how do I know how high/low to go?

2. Either way, should I adjust the timings seperately and manually, or just stop at changing the mem freq? If the former, do I need to adjust ALL timings, or just the standard ones (CAS, Trcd, Trp, and Tras, right?)?

3. Where does VDIMM voltage fit into this? Should I raise it after adjusting settings for mem freq and/or timings? How will I know when and how much to raise it?