Sign in with
Your question

Planning on building HTPC

Last response: in Systems
February 19, 2006 6:02:41 PM

Well I want to build a Media Center PC, and as I'm a relative noob to building PCs in general, let alone HTPCs, I was wondering if you guys could help me out...

Heres what I was planning (The budget here is <$1500)

Motherboard:
Asus A8N VM-CSM

Memory:
2 GB OCZ DDR 500 PC 4000 "Gold Gamer"

CPU:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+

Hard Drive:
Seagate 7200.9 250GB SATA II

Case:
Thermaltake Mystic

PSU:
Enermax Liberty 400W

DVD Drive:
NEC 3550A DVD+-RW

Video Devices:
Hauppage WinTV 150MCE
Gigabyte Geforce 6600GT w/ VIVO

I'm sure my newness is apparent in the part selection, so I'd like to know where I can cut costs, especially in the RAM and Processor departments. So here are a couple of specific questions:
1.) Is there that much difference between the X2 3800, 4200, and 4400 to justify the cost difference?

2.) For this purpose, would cheaper ram (such as value select) be a better choice than the RAM that I've picked (I picked it for the speed, but I'm not sure it would really matter unless I was using this for gaming right?)

3.) Do I need a sound card, or will onboard sound suffice?

Other than those two questions, any other suggestions you guys may have regarding parts selection (or anything else, for that matter) would be greatly appreciated.

More about : planning building htpc

February 19, 2006 7:16:26 PM

I,m planning on building an htpc Myself I,ve don alot of research on the parts.

1 The cpu with the best price/ peformance is the X2 4200. There is a big difference in performance over the X2 3800, But the difference over the X2 4400 is not worth te extra cash. But if you really prefer a fast cpu you should check out the opteron 170 (939), it has the same specs as the X2 4400 and is 50 bucks cheaper.