Sign in with
Your question

MBR Corrupted --- Please Help !!!!

Last response: in Windows 7
March 28, 2011 10:46:53 PM

I have a 1TB hard drive with about 6 partitions on it. Including NTFS, EXT4, and HFS+ partitions. I loaded a backup image file for one of the operating systems and this ended up slightly messing up the MBR. I usually fix this by using a small MBR writing program. However this time instead of fixing the MBR, it corrupted it.

Now any partition or recovery software that i use says that its unable to read from the drive or says that its unallocated, but Im sure theres a way to get the data back by simply fixing the partition tables

however i have never done this before and so far all the partition programs i used didnt work
any help would be very appreciated

More about : mbr corrupted

Anonymous
a b $ Windows 7
March 29, 2011 12:38:14 AM

You could run fixmbr from command prompt from windows install cd repair.
m
l
March 29, 2011 12:46:15 AM

Anonymous said:
You could run fixmbr from command prompt from windows install cd repair.

i have tried BootRec.exe /fixmbr but it doesnt work
m
l
March 29, 2011 1:17:28 AM

bob_white said:
I have a 1TB hard drive with about 6 partitions on it. Including NTFS, EXT4, and HFS+ partitions. I loaded a backup image file for one of the operating systems and this ended up slightly messing up the MBR. I usually fix this by using a small MBR writing program. However this time instead of fixing the MBR, it corrupted it.

Now any partition or recovery software that i use says that its unable to read from the drive or says that its unallocated, but Im sure theres a way to get the data back by simply fixing the partition tables

however i have never done this before and so far all the partition programs i used didnt work
any help would be very appreciated

Try using both the FixMBR option AND FixBoot.

/FixMbr